Restoration and reproduction

To restore the original flexibility of the parchment, the leaves must be humidified gently. Following a protocol developed by the conservation department at the Bibliothèque nationale de France, two procedures may be used:

  • leaves may be placed in a humidifying chamber for several hours
  • or each leaf may be placed between two layers of sympatex, sandwiched between two blotting papers.

Once re-hydrated, the leaves are cleansed of impurities, the folds and wrinkles are eased out, and the flattened leaves are affixed with clips on cardboard forms, made to measure. Once relaxed and “re-stretched”, the leaves can be manipulated; the easing of folds and wrinkles reveals zones of text that were otherwise unreadable.

Each manuscript is digitalized twice in high-resolution colour, before and after relaxation, according the norms furnished by the photographic service at IRHT and under its supervision.

In 2012-2013, the Bibliothèque nationale de France made a documentary film about the conservation of the manuscripts of Chartres at the Technical Centre at Bussy-Saint-Georges: La renaissance des manuscrits médiévaux de Chartres.

Restauration et reproduction

Pour rendre au parchemin sa souplesse d’origine, il convient de le réhydrater en douceur. Selon un protocole élaboré par le service Restauration de la Bibliothèque nationale de France, deux procédés sont mis en œuvre :

  • enfermement des feuillets pendant quelques heures dans une chambre d’humidification ;
  • placement de chaque feuillet entre deux couches de sympatex, prises en sandwich entre deux buvards détrempés.

Une fois réhydratés, les feuillets sont nettoyés de leurs impuretés, puis dépliés, aplanis et mis en tension, à l’aide de pinces à dessin, sur des formes en carton découpées selon leurs contours.

Assouplis, ils peuvent être manipulés ; dépliés, ils laissent voir des zones de texte autrement illisibles.

Pour chaque manuscrit, deux séries de prises de vues sont faites, avant et après relaxation. Selon les normes fournies par le service Image de l’IRHT et sous son contrôle, chaque feuillet fait ainsi l’objet d’une double reproduction numérique en couleurs, à très haute résolution.

En 2012-2013, la Bibliothèque nationale de France a réalisé un film sur le traitement des manuscrits de Chartres au Centre technique à Bussy-Saint-Georges : La renaissance des manuscrits médiévaux de Chartres.