Recognize a manuscript from Chartres

Illumination

The manuscripts housed at Chartres since the Middle Ages were not all copied and illuminated there. For example, the canons of the cathedral bequeathed many law manuscripts to the chapter, some of which were made in Italy, such as ms. 150, which contains the Decretals of Innocent IV. In order to define the stylistic characteristics of Chartrain illumination, examples must be gathered together by comparing manuscripts still extant at Chartres (or known through old photographs) with those that were made at Chartres but which are now dispersed worldwide. The study of the ornamental decoration plays a primary role in identifying new manuscripts, especially the modest penwork initials, with their ink-drawn motifs, which form a repertory that is typical of twelfth-century Chartrain manuscripts.

The decorative elements ought not to be used in isolation for dating and localizing a manuscript. The script, the nature of the text, the history of its transmission, its recipient and later owners must all be taken into consideration. To illustrate this point, it is useful to remember that in the early twelfth century the Counts of Champagne were at the same time the counts of Chartres and Blois, which explains why, during the 1140s, the same artist who illuminated the Heptateuchon of Thierry de Chartres also painted two Bibles that were undoubtedly ordered by Count Thibaud II for himself and Saint Bernard.

Thierry de Chartres, Heptateuchon, vol. 1
Chartres, ca. 1140
Chartres, BM, ms. 497, f. 5v

Readers’ notes and markings

The canons of the Cathedral of Chartres frequently borrowed books from the chapter library. Medieval readers often left various markings in manuscripts they owned or consulted: ex libris, commentaries, graphic signs of one kind or another next to important passages. By noting these marks systematically and comparing them to those found in manuscripts known to have come from Chartres, new Chartrain manuscripts can sometimes be identified.

Chartrain liturgy

The Cathedral of Chartres is dedicated to the Virgin. Her cult was promoted notably by Bishop Fulbert (c. 960-1028), who wrote chants and sermons in her honor. Among the church’s most precious relics, other than the tunic of the Virgin, was the cranium of Saint Anne, given in 1204. Saint Chéron (Caraunus), a fifth-century martyr, and especially Saint Lubin (Leobinus) were particularly venerated. Two windows in the cathedral are dedicated to them. Saint Laumer (Laudomarus) of Blois and Saint Piat of Tournai also received special honors at Chartres. The dedication of the cathedral is celebrated on the 17th of October.

Canon Yves Delaporte devoted several studies to the Chartrain liturgy. In 1953 he edited the ms. 1058: L’Ordinaire chartrain du XIIIe siècle publié d’après le manuscript original, Chartres, 1953 (Société archéologique d’Eure-et-Loir, t. XIX). In his introduction he inventoried the liturgical manuscripts in the municipal library before the fire in 1944 and listed the local feasts in the sanctoral. The cathedral’s rich musical repertory has attracted the attention of musicologists for some time. Using pre-war photographs, Yves Delaporte published Fragments des manuscrits de Chartres, reproduction phototypique, Abbaye de Solesmes, 1958 (Paléographie musicale, XVII). For a recent state of the question on Chartrain liturgy, see Margot Fassler, The Virgin of Chartres. Making History through Liturgy and the Arts, New Haven, London, 2010. For the short office of the Virgin according to the use of Chartres, see the website devoted to books of hours created and maintained by Erik Drigsdahl : http://manuscripts.org.uk/manuscripts/chd.dk/.

Saint Lubin, bishop of Chartres.
Historiated initial in a twelft-century book of saints' lives that belonged to the Cathedral chapter of Chartres.
Chartres, BM, ms. 500, f. 70v.

(A. LECOQ, "Légendaires et sermonnaires du XIVe siècle", Mémoires de la Société archéologique d’Eure-et-Loir, IV, 1867, p. 205)

Reconnaître un manuscrit chartrain

Le décor enluminé

Les manuscrits conservés depuis le Moyen Âge à Chartres n'ont pas tous été copiés et enluminés sur place (par exemple, les chanoines de la cathédrale ont légué au chapitre de nombreux manuscrits de droit, dont certains d'origine italienne comme les Décrétales d'Innocent IV du ms. 150). Pour cerner les caractéristiques stylistiques de l'enluminure chartraine il faut cumuler les exemples, en comparant les manuscrits encore conservés sur place (ou connus par des reproductions anciennes) avec ceux originaires de Chartres mais aujourd'hui dispersés dans le monde entier. Dans ce travail, l'étude du décor ornemental joue un rôle primordial. Ce sont en particulier les modestes initiales filigranées avec leurs motifs tracés à l'encre qui permettent de reconnaître un répertoire typiquement chartrain dans la production du XIIe siècle.

Les éléments du décor ne doivent jamais être utilisés seuls pour dater et localiser un manuscrit, il faut  également prendre en considération l'écriture, la nature du texte et l'histoire de sa transmission, son destinataire et ses possesseurs ultérieurs... Ainsi faut-il se souvenir qu'au XIIe siècle, les comtes de Champagne sont en même temps comtes de Blois et de Chartres, ce qui explique que dans les années 1140-1150, le même artiste a enluminé l'Heptateuchon de Thierry de Chartres et deux Bibles vraisemblablement commandées par Thibaud Il, comte de Champagne.

Thierry de Chartres, Heptateuchon, vol. 1
Chartres, vers 1140
Chartres, BM, ms. 497, f. 5v

Les marques de lecture

Les chanoines de la cathédrale de Chartres empruntaient fréquemment des livres à la bibliothèque du chapitre. Or, les lecteurs des manuscrits médiévaux ont souvent laissé des traces de leur consultation dans les livres : ex-libris, commentaires, marques de lecture graphiques pouvant prendre des formes très variées. Il faut donc systématiquement relever ces marques, car leur comparaison à celles apposées dans des manuscrits dont l'histoire est connue, peut parfois permettre d'identifier un nouveau manuscrit provenant de Chartres.

La liturgie chartraine

La cathédrale de Chartres est consacrée à la Vierge, dont le culte fut promu notamment par l'évêque Fulbert (vers 960-1028) qui composa des chants et des sermons en son honneur. Parmi les nombreuses reliques, outre la précieuse chemise de la Vierge, on y conserva aussi depuis 1204 le chef de sa mère, sainte Anne. Au nombre des saints particulièrement vénérés à Chartres, il y a saint Chéron (Caraunus), martyr du Ve siècle, et surtout saint Lubin (Leobinus), évêque du VIe siècle ; deux vitraux de la cathédrale leur sont dédiés. Saint Laumer (Laudomarus) de Blois et saint Piat de Tournai sont également honorés à Chartres. La dédicace de la cathédrale est célébrée le 17 octobre.

Le chanoine Yves Delaporte a consacré de nombreuses études à la liturgie chartraine. En 1953 il édita le ms. 1058 : L’Ordinaire chartrain du XIIIe siècle publié d’après le manuscrit original, Chartres, 1953 (Société archéologique d’Eure-et-Loir, t. XIX). Dans son introduction, il recense les manuscrits liturgiques, conservés avant l'incendie de 1944 à la bibliothèque municipale, et présente les fêtes locales du sanctoral. Le riche répertoire musical de la cathédrale a depuis longtemps attiré l'attention des musicologues. Grâce aux reproductions d'avant-guerre, Yves Delaporte put publier les Fragments des manuscrits de Chartres. Reproduction phototypique, Abbaye de Solesmes, 1958 (Paléographie musicale, XVII). Pour un état récent des études sur la liturgie chartraine, voir Margot Fassler, The Virgin of Chartres. Making History through Liturgy and the Arts, New Haven, Londres, 2010. Quant au petit office de la Vierge à l’usage de Chartres, voir le site dédié aux livres d'heures d'Erik Drigsdahl.

 

Saint Lubin, évêque de Chartres.
Initiale historiée d'un Légendier (recueil de vies de saints) du XIIe s., provenant du chapitre de la cathédrale de Chartres.
Chartres, BM, ms. 500, f. 70v.

(A. LECOQ, "Légendaires et sermonnaires du XIVe siècle", Mémoires de la Société archéologique d’Eure-et-Loir, IV, 1867, p. 205)